NewsMayo Clinic Orthopedic Surgeon Receives AOA's "Pillar of the Profession" Award

Mayo Clinic Orthopedic Surgeon Receives AOA’s “Pillar of the Profession” Award

Must Read

The American Orthopaedic Association (AOA) recently honored Bernard Morrey, M.D., professor, emeritus chair of the Department of Orthopedic Surgery at Mayo Clinic, as “Pillar of the Orthopaedic Profession” in 2023.

Leadership and Honors

Dr. Morrey is a Past President of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, the American Orthopaedic Association, and the American Shoulder and Elbow Surgeons.

He has been the chair of the Board of Trustees of the Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery and for the Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery. He served for 8 years on the Board of Governors of Mayo Clinic.

Dr. Morrey is a member of numerous national and an honorary member of many international specialty orthopaedic organizations. Also he is a Fulbright Scholar and a former consultant to the Food and Drug Administration.

Dr. Morrey attended medical school at the University of Texas Medical Branch and completed his residency at Mayo Clinic. It recognized him as a distinguished alumnus. He also holds the position of emeritus John and Posy Krehbiel Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at Mayo.

Dr. Morrey is recognized for his leadership, mentoring and lifelong contributions to the orthopedic community. He practiced at Mayo Clinic from 1978 to 2009, specializing in elbow, hip and knee surgery.

“In AOA’s tribute video, Dr. Morrey says, ‘At Mayo, we developed an interest in an ‘unknown joint,’ which turned out to be the elbow. That experience, along with hip and knee surgery, shaped my academic career. The opportunity to help individuals from all walks of life regain their function, which is the essence of orthopedics, is a reflection of my career.'”

Furthermore, he has authored 15 major textbooks under four different titles, translated into six languages, and holds nine patents. Additionally, he has written over 450 peer-reviewed publications.

Dr. Morrey is the third orthopedic surgeon from Mayo Clinic to receive this national pillar of profession recognition. The others are the late Mark Coventry, M.D., and the late Patrick Kelly, M.D.

- Advertisement -


Lush Prize announces 2024 winners

May 2024- On May 21st Dr Lorna Ewart, from the Boston USA based organ-on-a-chip company Emulate, received the prestigious...
- Advertisement -